Sept. 9-11 CVSA International Roadcheck is your company prepared?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

There are six primary levels of DOT inspections that may be conducted during the CVSA Roadcheck blitz. The following list of the different levels includes an explanation of the methods used in assessing the vehicle and its driver.

I – North American Standard Inspection: At this level of inspection, the inspector will be meticulous in checking the driver’s documents, in addition to looking for drugs, alcohol or hazardous materials that the driver may be transporting. This list includes:

• Driver’s license

• Driver’s daily log and hours of service

• Driver and Vehicle Inspection Report

• Medical card and waiver

• Alcohol and/or drugs

• Hazmat requirements

In checking the vehicle, the evaluation will look at the following parts and accessories:

• Seatbelt

• Brakes

• Brake lamps

• Coupling devices

• Exhaust system

• Emergency exits and/or electrical cables and systems in the engine and battery compartments (buses)

• Frame

• Fuel system

• Headlamps

• Lamps on projecting loads

• Safe loading

• Securement of cargo

• Steering mechanism

• Stop lamps

• Suspension

• Tail lamps

• Tires

• Trailer bodies

• Turn signals

• Wheels, rims, and hubcaps

• Windshield wipers

II – Walk-Around Driver/Vehicle Inspection: This inspection is almost identical to the level I evaluation, except the inspector will not check any of the parts that require physically getting under the CMV. Carriers may want to consider using a DOT driver vehicle checklist or mobile app to learn what goes into conducting a vehicle safety inspection.

III – Driver-Only Inspection: At a level III inspection, you can expect an in-depth examination of the following list:

• Driver’s license

• Medical card

• Driver’s daily log

• Seat belt

• Driver and Vehicle Inspection Report

• Driver incident history • Hazmat requirements

IV – Special Inspection: The level IV special inspection refers to a one-time examination conducted to take a closer look at a particular feature of the vehicle. This is usually done to invalidate a previous claim about the vehicle — in order to support or refute a study or suspected trend.

V – Vehicle-Only Inspection: A level V inspection can be conducted at any location and includes everything in level I regarding the vehicle — but without a driver present.

VI – Enhanced NAS Inspection for Radioactive Shipments: Since DOT regulations came into effect as of January 1, 2005, all CMVs transporting highway route controlled quantities (HRCQ) of radioactive material are required to pass the North American Standard Level VI Inspection.

This inspection is used for certain radio-logical shipments. Select radio-logical shipments only comprise highway route-controlled quantities set forth by DOT’s title 49 section 173.403.

The vehicle, drivers, and cargo must all pass this inspection before departing. The Level VI inspection will typically take up to 60 minutes to complete.

Once complete, a special nuclear symbol will be attached to the CMV to indicate it passed a Level VI inspection. This nuclear symbol is only valid for one trip and will be removed upon arriving at the destination.

This inspection includes:

• Inspecting for radiological shipments

• Inspection procedures

• Enhancements to level I

• Radio-logical requirements • Enhanced out of service criteria

As a true trucking insurance risk management partner, IMA Transportation can assist in building a solid inspection and maintenance program for your fleet. Contact Us to learn more